wrestling · Scottie wrestlers recognized for MVL championship season; All-Ohioan Joseph Eckelberry headed to Ashland

by Jon Hardman, TVHS Wrestling Coach

Our team had much to celebrate this year. Below are some of their accomplishments that we recognized them for at our recent awards banquet.  In addition, we celebrated with our highly decorated, All-Ohio senior wrestler Joseph Eckelberry, as he signed his letter of intent in front of the team and his family, to continue his academic and wrestling career at Ashland University!  Congratulations to the team, and to Joseph!

Records/Stats from Banquet:


  • 28 season dual wins are most in TV history and tie the boys for #31 in OHSAA history (according to the OHSAA site)
  • Three Seniors finished with 100+ wins and two more seniors were VERY close to hitting this mark.
  • Janet Stammen Dual Tournament Champions (5-0)
  • Independence Duals Champions (5-0)
  • MVL Big School Dual Champions (5-0 vs. MVL Big Schools)
  • Seniors have beaten New Lex twice in the past 4 years. Prior to this, TV hadn’t defeated New Lex since Ronald Reagan was in office!
  • Finished 25th at OHSAA State Tournament with 3 wrestlers. All 3 scored a pin at state!
  • 2 State Placers were most TV has had in one season


  • Joseph Eckelberry broke the school record for career wins (173) and career pins (126). His 126 pins rank him #9 in OHSAA history (according to the OHSAA site)
  • Cullen Van Rooyen broke the school record for escapes in a season (44) and tied the school record for major decisions in a season (5)
  • Garrett Folden is the 3rd TV wrestler to win the Dawg Pound Award (hardest worker) twice. He shared it with Cullen Van Rooyen this year.

Varsity Stat Leaders:

  • Wins: Joseph Eckelberry and Cullen Van Rooyen (41)
  • Winning %: Joseph Eckelberry (89.1%)
  • Takedowns: Cullen Van Rooyen (70)
  • 1st Takedown in a match: Cullen and Joseph (33)
  • Reversals: Ethan Paladino (16)
  • Escapes: Cullen Van Rooyen (44)
  • 2pt Near Falls: Cullen Van Rooyen (22)
  • 3pt Near Falls: Cullen Van Rooyen (36)
  • Major Decisions: Cullen Van Rooyen (5)
  • Tech Falls: Cullen Van Rooyen (2)
  • Pins: Joseph Eckelberry (31)
  • Fastest Pin: Zach Baker (:09)

JV Stat Leaders:

  • Wins: Jaleel Brown (10)
  • Takedowns: Jaleel Brown (26)
  • Reversals: Owen Pettit (4)
  • Escapes: Jaleel Brown (9)
  • 2pt Near Falls: Jaleel Brown, Alex Hill, Coleson McCullough (3)
  • 3pt Near Falls: Trent McCoun (eight)
  • Pins: Coleson McCullough (eight)
  • Fastest Pin: Kaleb Hindel (:09)

Individual Awards:

Last Man Standing: (Above) Cullen Van Rooyen and Joseph Eckleberry

photos by Jodee Van Rooyen

Most Improved: (Above) Coleson McCullough, with Coach Hardman

Dawg Pound Award: (Above) Cullen Van Rooyen and Garrett Folden


  • Captains Awards: Garrett Folden and Joseph Eckelberry
  • MVL Champions: Joseph Eckelberry, Cullen Van Rooyen, Ethan Jenkins, and Andy Hill
  • MVL Tournament Co-MVP: Joseph Eckelberry
  • MVL Season Co-MVP: Joseph Eckelberry

State Qualifiers!  Above, left to right:  Joseph Eckelberry, Karter Jones, and Cullen Van Rooyen.

4th Varsity Letter Trophy Award:  (Above, l-r) Garrett Folden, Seth Schneider, and Joseph Eckleberry.

3rd Varsity Letter

  • Isaiah Armstrong
  • Cullen Van Rooyen
  • Josey Boyd
  • Andy Hill
  • David Coleman
  • Karter Jones

2nd Varsity Letter:

  • Jason Patterson
  • Wyatt Dennison
  • Jake McIntire
  • Coleson McCullough

1st Varsity Letter:

  • Andrew Tackett
  • Rylan Snedeker
  • Slade Huston
  • Jaleel Brown
  • Owen Pettit
  • Kaleb Hindel
  • Ethan Paladino
  • Ethan Jenkins
  • Zach Baker
  • Mason Prouty
  • Haddie Hunter (stat)

Scholar Athletes:  Congratulations to the TVHS wrestling team student-athletes above, who were recognized as Muskingum Valley League Scholar-Athletes for the 2020-21 season. Left to right are: Owen Pettit, Andy Hill, Mason Prouty, Josey Boyd, Jason Patterson, Kaleb Hindel, and Garret Folden.  Absent from photo: Haddie Hunter, team statistician, and scholar-athlete.

The coaching staff deserves a lot of credit, as well. Ryan Armstrong (Chris Ann Armstrong), Joe Kaplinsky and Skyler Wisecarver put in a ton of time and effort into helping these boys achieve their goals. Ryan and Sky would get off work and drive long distances just to make it to practice every day. Often times, Ryan would stick around and help Joe with the MS practice until 8:00 at night. Joe would do the same, and come in early to help a lot of the kids that he’s developed for the past few years. Skyler Wisecarver sacrificed his body by drilling with these kids if they didn’t have a partner. The boys loved having him back in the room! These coaches pushed the kids every day. They could stay with 1-2 kids for the entire practice to ensure that they were working and learning. The team would not have had nearly as much success without their coaching. I thank them all for their time and dedication.

Thank you so much for all of the help and support this season. Without some awesome parent help, we would not be able to do alot of what we do.

And finally, (below) we ALL celebrated as a team, one of our All-Ohioans – graduating senior Joseph Eckelberry – who declared his intention to continue his wrestling and academic career at Ashland University this fall.  Congratulations Joseph, we are all proud of you and wish you the best!